The Waverley Route

Discounts Apply !
Product ID CR1614
Duration 59 mins.
The Waverley Route
Until its closure in 1969, the Waverley Route served the border towns and villages between Carlisle and Edinburgh. The industrial towns of Hawick and Galashiels contrasted sharply with the lonely beauty of Falahill, Shankend and Whitrope Summit, names that evoke memories of hard working steam locomotives as they pounded up steep gradients. From D49s in 1959, A1s, A3s, A4s, B1s and V2s in the early 1960s, to Claytons and Peaks after the end of steam, we trace the changes in motive power, including scenes on the last day of passenger workings. Leisurely trips on the branch lines to Kelso, Langholm and Selkirk, with studies of Galashiels, Hawick, St. Boswells, Shankend and Stow complement a superb final rail travelogue from Carlisle to Edinburgh featuring almost every station on the route.
Add to cart
Price: £14.95

Welcome to 1st Take!

We welcome your gift orders right up to the last pre-Christmas posting date (20.12.18). We are currently receiving a large amount of orders, so please bear with us in this busy time! We will advise you of any likely delays once you have placed your order, or you can call us to check stock levels and order over the phone. Please note that any titles with a product code made entirely of numbers is guaranteed to be available for immediate shipping.

Shopping Cart

Shopping cart  Shopping cart
0 Product(s) in cart
Total £0.00
» View Shopping Cart
Accepted Payments

Your Account

Login Status  Login Status

Not logged in

» Login

Recently Viewed

Recently Viewed  Recently Viewed
» Railways
The Waverley Route

Email Newsletter

We email once or twice a month with news, features and special offers!

New Releases

1st Take 2019 Catalogue - NEW!

Order your own free copy of our latest catalogue here!

Price: £0.00