Classic TVSpiritYou Rang M’Lord? Complete Collection (Series 1-4) (8 Discs, Subtitles, Cert PG)

SKU: BBC2317


4 hrs. 30 mins.


All 25 episodes from Series 1-4 of the popular BBC comedy from legendary writers Jimmy Perry and David Croft.  When Alf Stokes (Paul Shane) and James Twelvetrees (Jeffrey Holland) meet in the trenches of World War One, they help save the life of a wounded officer. Years later, they both find themselves working on the household staff of that officer’s brother, Lord Meldrum (Donald Hewlett). This comic version of ‘upstairs downstairs’ life is now regarded as one of Croft and Perry’s finest creations, which you can now enjoy on DVD!



Stock available (delivery of orders including this item may take slightly longer)

  • Description
  • Additional information


From imdb:

In 1927, Lord Meldrum is a wealthy widower who owns a rubber factory. He lives with his brother Teddy, mother-in-law Lady Lavender, and daughters Poppy and Cissy. Meldrum is having an affair with Lady Agatha, wife of his rival Sir Ralph. He is trying to persuade Teddy to marry socialite Madge Cartwright, but Teddy fancies servant girls more than the upper-class ladies, so he’s reluctant to marry Madge. Poppy is a flapper who often flirts with servant James. She’s very different from her sister Cissy in appearance as well as attitude. Cissy fancies women more than men, wears men’s clothes, and is a member of the workers’ movement and a workers’ political party. Lady Lavender is extravagant, owns a parrot, and likes to throw food at servants. The servants live downstairs: Mrs. Lipton, the cook; James, a snobbish servant; Henry, the youngest servant, who usually gets clipped behind the ear by James or Mrs. Lipton. The butler Stokes was the last to join the servants, with his daughter Ivy, the maid. He is shady and despises the rich. During WWI, he and James were in the trenches with Teddy and saved his life, so Stokes gets the position of butler upon his arrival at the house. The lowest-ranked of the servants is poor washing lady Mabel; she doesn’t live with the Meldrums.


Episodes are: The Phantom Sign Writer’, ‘A Deed of Gift’, ‘Love and Money’, ‘Fair Shares’, ‘Beg, Borrow or Steal’, ‘Labour of Love’, ‘Trouble at Mill’, ‘Money Talks’, ‘The Meldrum Vases’, ‘The Wounds of War’, ‘Stranger in the Night’, ‘Royal Flush’, ‘Please Help the Orphans’, ‘Current Affairs’, ‘Mrs Lipton’s Nasty Turn’, ‘Meet the Workers’, ‘Gretna Green or Bust’, ‘The Night of Reckoning’, ‘A Day in the Country’, ‘Yes SIr, That’s My Baby’, ‘Requiem for a Parrot’, ‘Come to the Ball’, ‘The Truth Revealed’, ‘Fall of the House of Meldrum’ and ‘Well, There You Are Then!’.



Additional information

Weight 1 lbs


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “You Rang M’Lord? Complete Collection (Series 1-4) (8 Discs, Subtitles, Cert PG)”